BLS vs Traditional CPR Certification

Medical student BLS

The Complete Guide to BLS vs Traditional CPR Classes and How They Differ

What is BLS and Why Do I Need It?

BLS is a certification that is often required by employers to ensure that healthcare providers are up-to-date on the latest skills and knowledge. We provide BLS training for medical professionals who want to work in hospitals, nursing homes, or other licensed facilities.

The American Heart Association (AHA) guidelines for BLS are designed to be used in conjunction with the Emergency Cardiovascular Care guidelines to help with care in the hospital setting.

BLS(Basic Life Support) Versus A Traditional CPR Class

The American Heart Association and the American Red Cross offer traditional CPR Classes to the general public that are usually conducted by a certified instructor or someone who is qualified to teach the class. Participants are required to learn how to administer compressions and rescue breathing in accordance with guidelines set forth by the AHA and ARC.

While traditional CPR Classes have been taught for 50 years and have changed little throughout time. There is another certification tailor-made for Healthcare professions. It’s called BLS (Basic Life Support) which incorporates 2 person CPR. This course covers a lot more than just cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) skills – it also teaches skill sets such as how to help someone who’s choking and when to use an AED.

Why You Need to Take a Class Different From the Typical CPR Class

BLS certification is often required by Hospitals, EMS organizations, dentists and most other medical providers and regulatory agencies. BLS CPR is also one of the most important skills a person can have. It can save a life in a hospital setting.

In traditional CPR AED classes, you learn how to do single-person chest compressions and breaths. With BLS you learn how to perform team-based CPR as well as 2-person CPR. You also learn how to more thoroughly check a person if they need CPR or not. You may need other skills such as using an AED machine or performing rescue breathing with a barrier device if the person has stopped breathing on their own.

Conclusion: Take a Basic Life Support Certification Every 2 Years To Keep Your BLS Card Current

BLS Basic Life Support Certification is required by healthcare regulatory agencies like the Board of Respiratory Care (BRC) and healthcare employers alike. It is also encouraged to take this CPR certification every two years because the certifications expire and your skills tend to be forgotten when not utilized.

Register for a BLS class today: